If printers were determined not to print anything till they were sure it would offend nobody, there would be very little printed.                          
                                                                                                                                                                                                   
 - Benjamin Franklin    

     

Mailing Address
Association of Philadelphia Tour Guides
#805
702 N. 3rd Street
Philadelphia, PA 19123
EMail

info@phillyguides.org

FACEBOOK

 


 

OFFICERS 2017

APT officers and directors-at-large serve one year terms.

Nick Cvetkovic

President president@phillyguides.org

Steve Maurer

Vice-President vicepresident@phillyguides.org

Bob Levitt

Treasurer

Robert.levitt1@verizon.net

Judy Smith

Secretary secretary@phillyguides.org



DIRECTORS-AT-LARGE 2017

Sara Richardson

               sararichardson@phillyguides.org

 Jim Murphy

               jimmurphy@phillyguides.org

Lois Linden 

               loislinden@phillyguides.org

         

COMMITTEE CHAIRS 2017

Bob Skiba

Education & Certification

education@phillyguides.org

Nick Cvetkovic

Communications communications@phillyguides.org

Nonnie Wiernik

Membership vicepresident@phillyguides.org

Steve Maurer
& Bob
Skiba

Events & Programming

programs@phillyguides.org

Bob Levitt

Handbook Sales   

Robert.levitt1@verizon.net

Joe Becton

Handbook Revisions jobecton@yahoo.com

Master Guide Panel

Master Guide Program

masterguidepanel@phillyguides.org

Howard Serlick

Website Calendar Project1041@comcast.net


 

 

 

    

 

 

 

ABOUT THE APT LOGO  

 

Our logo, designed by APT member and artist, Del Conner, was adopted in 2009. It features one of the many inventions of Philadelphia's most illustrious citizen, Ben Franklin. The street lamps in Franklin's day were not very efficient and the glass globes tended to become dark with soot from the oil burned inside, requiring almost daily cleaning. Franklin thought that the problem had to do with a lack of airflow within the globe. In his Autobiography, Franklin says: "I therefore suggested composing them of four flat panes, with a long funnel above to draw up the smoke, and crevices admitting air below, to facilitate the ascent of the smoke; by this means they were kept clean, and did not grow dark in a few hours, as the London lamps do, but continu'd bright till morning."

Franklin's lamp on our logo sheds its light over a geographical and historical panorama of Philadelphia's skyline, from the masts of the ships in the Delaware River, past the steeple of Christ Church, City Hall and the Comcast Center, to the spectacular Philadelphia Museum of Art on Fairmount.

 


 

APT is a member of The National Federation of Tourist Guide Associations-USA